The Capsule Garden Vol 1.21: June 24, 2022

Well, I hoped to maybe get an installment of The Capsule Garden out while were in the Pacific Northwest, that obviously didn’t happen. There’s been a bunch of great, interesting music coming out in that time and I’ll never get to it all, so here’s a smattering of music I listened to on the trip. Golden Donna It Won’t Be There When You Reach For It (Self-Released) … Continue reading The Capsule Garden Vol 1.21: June 24, 2022

Stripped Down, Center Focused: An Interview With Tilth

Foxy Digitalis depends on our awesome readers to keep things rolling. Pledge your support today via our Patreon. Nathan McLaughlin and Cody Yantis both have their own singular vision and creative practice, but when they come together as Tilth it is a sonic extension of their close relationship. The music always flows, whether at a trickle or a flood, but it’s secondary to the friendship the two have … Continue reading Stripped Down, Center Focused: An Interview With Tilth

Tilth “Rock Music”

Tilth is a monument to stillness. Rock Music is the latest in a series of exploratory full-lengths and the first since 2015’s stellar Country Music. Their music is unconcerned with the changing direction of the winds or the lithe movements of contemporary life, but rather, as always, it is centered on ageless approaches and everliving harmonies. Rock Music uses familiar elements, but stripped bare they become the bones of tomorrow … Continue reading Tilth “Rock Music”

Cody Yantis “Physical Silence”

Cody Yantis creates a series of intimate vignettes on Physical Silence, each a sonic still life for a moment of inquisition and contemplation. Using a diverse palette, there’s an elegance throughout that becomes part of the space we’re in, etching itself into walls and wafting in the air like a familiar, comforting perfume. Taking its titles from phrases in The Book of Disquiet by Fernando Pessoa, Physical Silence faces inward, … Continue reading Cody Yantis “Physical Silence”

Video Premiere: Cody Yantis “Invisible Damage”

Cody Yantis’s work is always purposefully reserved, revealing only the moments that need to be heard. On “Invisible Damage,” from his forthcoming full-length, Physical Silence, acoustic guitar, banjo, and piano cautiously stick a toe into the ice-cold water. Ready for the moment where the figure in the distance comes into focus, Yantis’s contemplative sojourn builds to a gentle crest of bowed strings and soft reeds roiling … Continue reading Video Premiere: Cody Yantis “Invisible Damage”